All About Me!


I was born in Victoria, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada, but  I was mostly raised in Vancouver.  My mother was Romanian and my father Jewish (see Wicked Witch of the West and Prince Charming in Large Drawings section) and their marriage and my childhood were spectacular examples  of dysfunction. I’m a UBC graduate (Vancouver, BC) in Philosophy and International Relations.

I’ve taught art and graphic design at college, community and individual levels. I lived in St. Catharines, Ontario while I was married, and returned to the Island when I got unmarried. 

I have settled in Deep Bay, Vancouver Island, and I’m  grateful to live between the forest and the sea in what
I consider the most beautiful place on the planet. I have a dog, a brother, two grown children, and many close friends and talented colleagues (see family and friend photos). I spend most of my time now making art. 

My Favourite Things

Favourite artists: Aubrey Beardsley, Albrecht Durer, M.C. Escher, Marc Chagall, Michelangelo, Joan Miro, Rembrandt, Henri Rousseau, David Levine, Ralph Stedman. 

Favourite films: Paris, Texas; All That Jazz; Veridiana; The Cook, The Thief, His Wife and Her Lover;  Grapes of Wrath; Seventh Seal; Midnight Cowboy; Mikey and Nicky, Pennies from Heaven, about a hundred more.

Favourite piece of music: George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.

Favourite classical musician: Frederick Chopin.

Favourite singers: Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, K.D. Lang, Jessye Norman, Bessie Smith, Tom Waits, Neil Young. 

Favourite music genres: blues, classical piano. 

Favourite writers: John Steinbeck, Charles Dickens, Cormac McCarthy, Philip Roth, Michael Connelly, Lee Child. 

Favourite poets: William Blake, William Butler Yeats. 

Favourite non-art activities: walking, films, reading, crossword puzzles, playing online scrabble with my son, attending my daughter’s plays, eating out with my man.